Central Wisconsin Community Action Council

Central Wisconsin Community Action Council (CWCAC) strives to lift people out of poverty and into a better quality of life. We are a private not-for-profit corporation established in 1966 under the Economic Opportunity Act as part of President Johnson’s War on Poverty. CWCAC operates a variety of state and federal programs to assist low-income families in becoming self-sufficient and to help our communities grow and prosper.

CWCAC serves the five counties of Adams, Columbia, Dodge, Juneau and Sauk. We have an office in each county including our central office in Wisconsin Dells.

Programs / Services

This is a general overview of the services provided by this CAA. Please contact the agency directly for more information on the programs they offer in your county.

  • Education/Skills Enhancement
  • Skills Enhancement Program
  • Financial Literacy Education
  • Employment Training
  • Economic/Business Development
  • Business Development
  • Business Revolving Loan Programs
  • Energy/Utilities
  • Emergency Fuel Assistance Programs
  • Weatherization Programs
  • Food Security/Environmental
  • Emergency Food Assistance
  • Community Garden Programs
  • Nutrition Education
  • Housing
  • Transitional Housing/Homeless Shelters
  • Rental Property Mgmt/Development
  • Rent Payment Assistance/Section 8
  • Rental Assistance Programs
  • Homeownership Programs
  • Home Repair Programs/Lead Abatement
  • Home Repair Programs
  • Parenting/Family Support
  • Childcare Provision/Assistance/Referrals
  • Clothing Assistance
  • Transportation
  • Car Purchase Programs
  • Youth and Young Adult Services
  • Education Skills
  • Homeless/Runaway Programs
  • Employment/Living Skills